You seem to come from a
background that hasn’t gone through the pain of having a loved one in hospital
or losing a loved one to coronavirus…nor have I…we’re the lucky ones…We haven’t
had to go through all he trauma so many other families have had to go through
because of this wretched virus and those loved ones who contracted the virus
but survived have to deal with months of painful therapy, loss of vision and
other issues associated with this abomination of a disease.
Imagine this: You are preparing
for a long hard day at work or likely in some cases preparing fucked up conspiracy
theories to post on social media when a phone call comes in from the state health
department, your mother is in a hospital intensive care unit on a ventilator with
coronavirus but you can’t go and visit her or sit by her bedside to support her
in her battle against the virus and what’s more the health department have
identified that you were in close contact with with your mother and have
ordered you to isolate from the rest of your family for fourteen days which you
have no choice but to do and complete testing for the virus. Days later, your
mother dies from coronavirus alone, you are left distraught by the news and spend
the rest of the day telling relatives via the phone from designated place of
isolation
Then you realize that because
you and other members of your immediate family are still in isolation, you will
be unable to attend the funeral of your dear mother but you help organise the
funeral and figure out which ten family members can go to the funeral keeping
in line with the restrictions around funeral attendance, you are emotionally
spent and heartbroken as you remember leaning on your mother for advice…she’s
not there to give that advice anymore, the children won’t be able to hear the
stories that Grandma can tell, no more going to your childhood home to chat
with over a cup of coffee and homemade pumpkin scones.
It transpires your mother
contracted coronavirus because your mother was in contact with somebody who contracted
the virus but was asymptomatic but didn’t self isolate like they should have or
wear a mask to prevent spread.
Sounds horrible doesn’t it? You
don’t want to be one of those people ending other people’s lives because you
think your rights and freedoms are being encroached upon like the person who
gave somebody’s loved one coronavirus, in reality your push for freedom is only
going to end in restrictions/lockdown for wider Australia due to a second wave
of the virus…you don’t want to be responsible for that.
Please stop the irresponsible
nonsense and be apart of the wider effort to stop the spread of the virus, if you
go out, please wear a mask if its required by law that you have to and adhere
to social distancing guidelines, if a store or police officer tells you to wear
a mask…for goodness sake…DO IT. If you don’t want to wear a mask than
please just stay at home, it’s not that hard.
Yes, you have rights but they
also come with responsibilities. We need to adhere to our responsibilities as
much as our rights, we all have the responsibility to everyone in our Australian
community.